## President's Commission on the Status of University Women

October 9, 2014 President's Conference Room 9:00 – 10:30 a.m.

- 1) Opening Remarks by President Cruzado
- 2) INTRODUCTIONS: Who are you and what is your role on the commission?
- 3) SHOUT OUTS to CAMPUS ACTIVITIES/EVENTS that have made a difference to women?
- 4) THANKS to those who have served previously; We need nominations/election for Chair of Communications Committee, Equity Policy Committee, and possibly Recognition Committee
- 5) Reports from Committees:
  - A. Recognition Committee Marilyn Lockhart (Chair)
  - B. Assessment Committee Becca Bellou (Chair) and Jessi Smith
  - C. Work-Life Integration Task Force Susan Dana
  - D. ADVANCE Grant Update Jessi Smith (Director)
- 6) Reports from MUS Campuses
  - A. Billings Campus
  - B. Great Falls
  - C. Havre (Ideas for Representative on this committee?)
- 7) By-laws discussion: Modify by-laws so everyone DOES NOT rotate off the board at the same time (Volunteers to serve on this ad-hoc committee?)
- 8) Discussion of Diversity Statement in recruiting materials: Now, it reads as "we do not discriminate based on..." Should we add something like "MSU values diverse perspectives and is committed to continually supporting, promoting, and building an inclusive and culturally diverse campus environment. MSU recognizes the importance of work-life integration and strives to be responsive to the needs of dual career couples."

## Other suggestions:

- · Add to sections as follows:
  - o DUTIES: We hope to attract applicants who can teach in a diverse university community and have demonstrated ability in helping students from diverse backgrounds succeed.
  - o PREFERRED QUALIFICATIONS: Demonstrated ability to work with and engage diverse students, colleagues within and outside the department.
  - o SUCCESSFUL CANDIDATE WILL: have an appreciation of diverse constituencies and add intellectual diversity to the department
  - o PHONE INTERVIEW QUESTIONS: Please give examples of your involvement in any diversity initiatives and subsequent outcomes.
  - o ON CAMPUS INTERVIEW QUESTION: How will you promote diversity and improve equity within the department and MSU?

- 9) Breakout Groups for Committees to Plan this Year's Activities (e.g., ideas: equity advocates think about ONE thing they would like to do to enhance equity and inclusiveness in their department)
  - Recognition Committee (Led by Marilyn)
  - Assessment Committee (Led by Becca)
  - Equity Policy Review Committee (Led by ??)
  - Communication Committee (Led by ??)
- 10) Report Out on Committee Discussions:
  - Recognition Committee (Marilyn)
  - Assessment Committee (Becca)
  - Equity Policy Review Committee
  - Communication Committee

Greetings Distinguished Members of the President's Commission on the Status of University Women (PCOSUW):

As the new chair of the PCOSUW who has taken over for Anne Camper, I'm writing to welcome you to the new school year, and to prepare you for our upcoming meeting, scheduled for 9-11am on Thursday, October 9 in the President's Conference Room, on the campus of Montana State University in Bozeman.

First, we all need to stand and give a rousing round of applause to Dr. Anne Camper, who has served the commission effectively for the past 4 years. It is an honor to follow in her footsteps to lead this group. So that she doesn't get too bored, she has agreed to serve as chair of the Nominations committee. This committee is responsible for identifying, recruiting, and nominating capable individuals to lead the various committees in the commission. Specifically, she needs **three** individuals to step up and consider chairing the following sub-committees within the commission: policy, communication, and recognition. The *equity policy committee* is responsible for identifying policies around campus that affect women and should be considered for implementation or revision. Once these policies are identified, the goal is to share them with the Work-Life Integration task force so that this group can move ideas forward. The *communication committee* is responsible for facilitating and enhancing communication about the role of the commission and our accomplishments and goals. The *recognition committee* is responsible for soliciting and reviewing nominations for various awards for women on campus. In addition, the executive committee has recommended considering modifying our by-laws such that all members of the commission do not rotate off at the same time—which is what would happen if we don't make modifications. The chairs of the 3 sub-committees and ad-hoc by-laws committee must be current members of the commission, so if you are a member. and you have an interest in chairing one of these committees, please contact Anne Camper (Anne c@erc.montana.edu) no later than October 5, 2014. If we have more than one person express interest in serving, we will have an election via email prior to the full board meeting on October 9th.

In addition to thanking Dr. Camper, we should also thank several individuals whose work on the committee contributed to the advancement of women on the MSU campuses. These individuals include: Diane LeTendre, Chris Fastnow, Erin McCormick, Kari Cargill, Michelle Tigges, Mary Murphy, and Rosalyn Templeton.

New faces on the committee include: Kate Grimes, our new leader of the Office of Institutional Equity, Sylvia Sparkman, representing staff senate, and Destini French, a family and consumer sciences major who represents ASMSU.

Below is a current list of who is serving on which committee. The Chair of these sub-committees should be a member of the full commission. If your name is listed with a committee, and you would like to continue to serve on that committee, you don't need to do anything. If you would like to serve on a different sub-committee or if this information is incorrect, please let me know ASAP (Lynda.Ransdell@montana.edu). These names are provided so you will know who to work with when we break into

groups at our full commission meeting for discussing initiatives for this year, or if you are unassigned, so you can select a committee that you are interested in serving on.

ASSESSMENT: Becca Belou (Chair), Cammie Bechtold, Carolyn Plumb

COMMUNICATION: Betsy Danforth, Ariel Donohue, Allison Kosto, Jeanine Schoessler;

(ADD: Deb Redburn)

RECOGNITION: Graham Austin, Marilyn Lockhart (Chair), Celia O'Connor

EQUITY POLICY REVIEW: Joy Honea, Teresa Marchwick, Sara Rushing, Jessi Smith

(ADD: Kate Grimes) AD-HOC BY-LAWS: TBA

MEETING MINUTES & OTHER SUPPORT: Maggie